FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
February 28, 2001
NEW OHIO FISHING LICENSE NEEDED MARCH 1
COLUMBUS, OH -- The Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) Division of Wildlife reminds anglers that a 2001 fishing license is required by March 1. The 2000 license expires on February 28.
The new licenses are available at more than 1,400 license outlets statewide. When purchasing their license, anglers will receive a copy of the 2001-2002 Ohio Fishing Regulations brochure.
The regulation brochure provides information on license requirements and exemptions, regulations in effect for the new year, a county-by-county listing of wildlife officers, aquatic nuisance species information, and a fish identification chart. It also contains information on how to obtain information on new boating regulations, fish consumption advisories and Lake Erie fishing.
The major changes in this year's regulations focus on walleye, sauger and saugeye. Beginning this year, the bag limit has been reduced for walleye taken from Lake Erie and its tributaries. The new limit is four from March 1 through April 30. From May 1 through the last day in February, 2002, the limit is six. There are other site-specific changes and anglers are advised to consult the regulation brochure.
Ohio's annual resident license costs $15. A one-day fishing license costs $7 and may later be exchanged for credit toward purchase of an annual fishing license. The annual non-resident license costs $24, while a three-day non-resident license costs $15. Fishing licenses are required for people age 16 and older. Those anglers who are age 66 and older may obtain a free license directly from a fishing license vendor.
Ohio also celebrates "Free Fishing Days" June 2 and 3 during which Ohio residents are encouraged to experience Ohio fishing without purchasing a license.
Additional information about fishing in Ohio may be obtained by calling 1-800-WILDLIFE, or on the Internet at: http://www.dnr.state.oh.us
For Further Information Contact: